Corpus Christi

Posted on Updated on

The day after I sent my husband on his great journey, my mother came to spend the week with us.  I am so grateful to have her here to help me during this transition.  She insists she hasn’t done a thing to help me and can’t imagine why I love having her around.  She’s crazy!  I haven’t loaded or unloaded my dishwasher or folded a stitch of laundry since she arrived.  That alone is worth big money to a mother of three under four!  But as I told her, even if she hadn’t done chores it is wonderful to have her company.  Chatting, cooking, reading or just watching the news together…it’s been great to visit and have another adult in the house.

As Sunday approached, my mother considered attending church with my neighbor who is Episcopalian.  I told her I would just attend the Episcopal church with her.  My mother paused a few moments and then taught me that this week in the liturgical calendar is the celebration of Corpus Christi, The Body of Christ.  It is the week the Church celebrates being part of God’s family through the blood of Jesus.  Because of this she thought it would be better if I worshipped with my church family that I have come to love so much.

I gave that some thought and considered what she taught me about Corpus Christi in the calendar and quickly received a plan.

Yesterday my Catholic mother, along with my little family, attended an Episcopal Service (the closest thing to Catholic near my house.)

Afterward we drove to my church that I will describe as a revival-focused, charismatic church.  We arrived late but were still able to enjoy the sermon and healing service while my children attended their class.  

 

Prophetic Art displayed during service.

It was a busy morning but it didn’t take long for me to appreciate that despite all of the MANY theological and practical differences between churches and denominations that WE are the BODY of CHRIST, the Corpus Christi.

I was brought up Catholic.

Saved in the Church of Christ.

Received the baptism of the Holy Spirit in the Assemblies of God.

Licensed by the Evangelical Church Alliance.

Married into a Presbyterian family.

And currently attend a non denominational church.

There is no one church with the “corner market” on Rightness.  It’s our loving deeds overflowing from a heart transformed by Jesus that identifies us as Christians.

Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up. Therefore, as we have opportunity, let us do good to all people, especially to those who belong to the family of believers. Galatians 6:9-10

Copyright ©2012 makeitplainontablets.wordpress.com

6 thoughts on “Corpus Christi

    Cheryl said:
    June 12, 2012 at 1:02 pm

    It is so good to see your mom! She looks lovely. How is your dad doing? You and your family are always close to my heart 🙂 love you, Cheryl

    fwinslow said:
    June 13, 2012 at 4:27 am

    Oh I just LOVE this! What a beautiful picture of Christ’s body. Thanks for celebrating unity and living that out in your humble love for all of His people. YOU SHINE, dear friend.

    Annie Wald said:
    June 13, 2012 at 1:04 pm

    What a great way to celebrate the Body of Christ. And how wonderful there are so many different expressions of faith and worship in your area.

      Debra Bell responded:
      June 13, 2012 at 2:19 pm

      Annie, Thank you so much for coming by to read and comment. Blessings on all you put your hand to. Debra

    MIDGE said:
    June 13, 2012 at 1:45 pm

    so happy that your Mom is near. She is, to me, the embodiment of Jesus’ love in this world. Her acceptance, serenity, and never-ending faith is people is a gift to all who know her. I can surely see her lovliness in this blog, Deb. Thanks so miuch, Midge

      Debra Bell responded:
      June 13, 2012 at 2:20 pm

      Midge! So glad to see you were here!!! I haven’t seen you in ages. It’s true Mother is a great gift to many. It took me years to appreciate her and I am so glad to have the opportunity to celebrate life and the love of our God with her. Debra

What do you think?

