Tilling the Soil of My Heart

Posted on Updated on

Today while my children and soon-to-depart husband napped, I spent time weeding an old flower bed in my yard.  Two years ago we planted this bed full of tulip bulbs to bloom about the time our daughter would be born.

Anna’s Tulips

Once those beautiful and memorial blooms faded and died this bed became home to overgrown weeds and bugs.  The following year only 5 or 6 of 60 untended tulips pressed up through the earth.  With my new found success in the pot garden, I got inspired to tackle this weed filled beast and plant food producing plants.  Cantaloupes (and maybe another zucchini) are in our future!

Weeding in Progress!
In Progress

As I turned the soil, removed the weeds and discovered what insects were living there I was reminded of a passage.  In Matthew 13 Jesus tells the parable of the sower in which the heart of man is illustrated as soil.  In the parable some of the soil was beaten down, some was shallow, some was riddled with thorns and some was good – ready to receive seed and be fruitful.

I learned from my father who has gardened his whole life that even good soil needs to be turned and crops rotated in order to remain fruitful.  For example, you wouldn’t want to plant tomatoes year after year in the same spot, in the same soil.  The nutrients of the soil would eventually be depleted and the crop would dwindle or worse.  Also time, water and pressure makes the ground hard and difficult for roots to grow in.  Therefore, each season the soil needs to be turned up or tilled.

There are times in our life where the soil of our heart needs to be examined and turned over.

“How do you till the soil of the heart?”  I asked as my spade dug a clod of dirt and clay.  I clenched it with my gloved hand and crushed it.  It fell to pieces. The roots of weeds were exposed and easily removed.

…Brokenness…

“The sacrifice you desire is a broken spirit.  A broken and repentant heart you will not reject, O God.”  Psalm 51:7 NLT

Tomorrow my husband will board a plane for a job in a foreign land.  It will keep him away for a year.  I am taking time at the dawn of this season to till my heart.  Brokenness is easily found on the the horizon as I grieve his leaving.  Taking the interpretation of repentance referring to direction rather than a word for apology, I pause to re-focus on the truths that hold my course on this journey. (Blog tip: Each highlighted line is a link to a related article.)

God is still God – And always is no matter what happens.

God is Trustworthy

He created and knows EVERYTHING and still knows me, loves me and wants me.

He has great plans!  I need not worry or fear.

And He’s here for me.

Worshipping this morning I listened to this song.  It would be the link to the one point above that doesn’t have one. “You Know Me” Bethel Music with Steffany Frizzell

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qcoKuwtlSgI&feature=relmfu

I embark on this new season, to be honest, with a little anxiety…but a lot of hope too.  Much is unknown and unfamiliar but I have anticipation for great surprises and a fulfilling adventure!  If you think of it – please keep my family in prayer.

Ready!

Blessings!

Copyright ©2012 makeitplainontablets.wordpress.com

8 thoughts on “Tilling the Soil of My Heart

    Cheryl said:
    June 4, 2012 at 11:15 am

    Debbie Sue, I have been just loving your blog. You are a most inspirational writer. Truly gifted! And I am thankful that you so openly share your gift. I am heartbroken for you and wish I could just jump on a plane and come and hang with you for a while. I am praying that our awesome God would make a way for that to happen. I look forward to the next story you write. Thamk you for you!! Love and hugs, Cheryl

      Debra Bell responded:
      June 4, 2012 at 11:38 am

      Cheryl, My wonderful friend, I too wish you could come and hang! Oh, what a glorious time that would be. Walks, lattes, great talks…we could even borrow the neighbors puppy! I miss you and thank you for your prayers. I do trust our God to do mighty things! Love
      Debra

    Christina McCulley said:
    June 4, 2012 at 11:45 pm

    This is beautiful. I’ve been thinking about your amazing family lots and I know the Lord is on your side. Peace, blessings and love.

      Debra Bell responded:
      June 7, 2012 at 7:22 am

      Thank you, Christina! God has continued to be faithful in bringing peace, comfort and support in many ways.

    deb Killian said:
    June 10, 2012 at 12:25 am

    Ah Debra, I will be praying for you knowing that God will give you the grace and peace you will need and use you during this time to bring us even more great stories, teachings and testimonies. I love you girl. I’ve always known God had His hand on you in a special way. I pray for the ‘many’ to gather around you and keep you warm while Jon is gone. xo

    Corpus Christi | Make it Plain on Tablets said:
    June 11, 2012 at 2:56 pm

    [...] Post navigation ← Tilling the Soil of My Heart [...]

    Annie Wald said:
    June 13, 2012 at 1:02 pm

    A year???!! That is so tough, especially with little ones. May God give you strength and hope and joy in the days to come!

      Debra Bell responded:
      June 13, 2012 at 4:46 pm

      Thanks, Annie! I receive that blessing!

What do you think?

